from the atelier

And by “atelier” I mean my dining room table. Where we eat occasionally, read magazines, and I print things.

I thought I’d document some production moments to give people a better sense of how linocuts and block printing happen. It’s such a simple concept, and yet so involved, so time-consuming, and often so frustrating. But also awesome and fun and sharp and surprising. Come with me, if you please!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What this slideshow doesn’t portray was what happened next. Namely me gingerly peeling the card off the block, letting it dry for a few hours, and then attacking it with a variety of markers while watching the most amazing / offensive / hilarious English comedy ever, Peep Show. For real. All coloring of cards, whether umbrellas or stained glass, or the intensive balloons, must occur while watching a TV show on my computer. It’s a law.

So you see – not only a long, complex process, but one that requires motor skills, patience, constant vigilance, and British humor. Also: music. Enrique is a printing favorite. Back episodes of This American Life are also genius.

I was talking to my boss about new card ideas for the store, and he suggested a pair of flying pigs. I love the idea, because I think pigs are legitimately really cool, but I think that might have unpleasant connotations. Most people buy cards as gifts, and if I received a travel-themed card featuring flying pigs, I might take it to mean “we’re giving you this card because I know you want to move to Istanbul but it’s never going to happen. Dream on, petite fille.” Non? Am I over-reading?

Any ideas from the peanut gallery? What would you like to see me make?

Leave a Reply

